The Giver Movie

Posted: August 25, 2014 in Books to Screen reviews

51z16qXdbXL._SS500_

The Giver movie based on the book by Lois lowry

I have not read this book and did not even know it existed till the movie came out. I admit,  a bit of a sad statement considering it is a prize-winning story. I was lucky enough to get a free movie pass so me and my wife went to see this movie tonight.

Sometimes it is nice to see the movie first before reading the book so that you can go into it without any preconceived notions of what the movie should be. I had no idea what this story was or even what it was about aside from the few snippets you get from watching the movie trailer. It looked interesting so I went to watch it because it was free.

This is the story of a perfect society. Everyone is equal, and thus no one can see any differences. In a world of equals there is no war, famine, disease, anger, resentment, or any other kind of emotions. All the world is black and white and in perfect harmony.

The world has been divided into communities organized into complete perfection. Everyone has the same home, same clothes and is assigned a career which they all  carry out with perfection. Those who are old and feeble, sick and afflicted are sent to the place of release, which as it turns out is death.

The world that has been created is protected by the barrier of memory which remains up till the giver has crossed the boundary.

Jonas our main character has been selected to be the new receiver of memories, a role that is supposed to guide and direct the Elders in the decision making by holding onto and having stored within his mind the memories of the world. The Giver is training him and giving him these memories so that he can replace him when the time comes.

I have to say that I love this story. There is so much about this story that speaks to the human heart and mind. It is, in the simplest form a philosophical story exploring who we are as individuals and people. It explorers the mind, heart and soul of what it is to be human.

I love the symbolism between the adults who want to control the world and the baby who just needs love and attention. Not having read the books I cannot say how this movie measures up the to the book, but I can say that I felt that the movie did a really good job bringing across these issues to the viewer.

I love the contrast between the black and white freedomless and emotionless world and the color emotion and freedom filled world that our main character Jonas explore as he shifts between the two worlds that he is coming to know exist.

I must say that I really loved this movie. The plot and story behind it is fascinating. I once said that I love a really good story, but what I love more than a good story is one that speaks to the human heart and condition. A story that explores what it is to be human. And this is one of those stories.

I can’t give this movie a rating based on the book as I have not read it yet but I can say that this is a really good movie and I am glad that I went to see it. So I won’t be giving you a rating but will say it is worth seeing and I can’t wait to see just how much better the book is compared to the movie. After all I have never seen a movie that was better than its book.

Leave a Reply

