E READER VS BOOK

Posted: January 6, 2014 in Thoughts on Reading

boxing

The great E reader vs book debate. Which one is better. I honestly don’t know I can see good and bad for both. I have been asked by many why I don’t just get a E reader and download my books. I  can honestly say I am quite reluctant to change to E reader. I love the feeling of a book in my hand. I have been reading a few E books lately and it just does not feel the same. It does not feel right. I love holding the story in my hand rather than a digital screen. I spend 8 + hours a day in front of a computer screen already for work.

I love holding a book in my hand. It easier to read and I find I enjoy reading it quite a bit more. I have only read a few E books, and so far they have done nothing to change or convert me to E book format as a primary means of enjoying a good story. You see a book never crashes. It never gets inadvertently erased. It still readable if you happen to drop it while an E reader could get cracked and break. It does not run on batter power so you can sit and read for hours even if you don’t have a charger. To many things are digitized in this world. It such a nice break to get away from the digital world for a while and just sit down and enjoy a good book. I know that there are many who will disagree with me and may be one day I will be converted but not today

I admit I get a certain enjoyment and pride from having all my books on display. I love just sitting and looking at my bookshelf and saying to my self. I have read all of those books. They are all mine. My children look at it and think I might read that book one day. They have asked me to read some of the books on my shelf. I am Reading the Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy currently to my daughter. she is loving it and is starting to take an interest in reading more books.

according to the guardian news paper 62% of young readers still prefer the printed vs ebook style (http://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/poll/2013/nov/26/print-books-or-ebooks-poll) the top reason given is that they want to hold the product in there hand. It’s just not the same as an E book. There is something about a physical book that brings that emotional connection that just is not the same in the digital form. Think of it as a text message vs and actual conversation with someone. It’s just so much more meaningful in person than via simple text. I have been to 4 Tea Party Concerts and I own one on blue ray. I can tell you that the live concert expirences is far better than watching it on T.V. It’s the same with reading an actual book vs a digital copy of one.

There are lots of forms of entertainment that are in the digital domain. Music, movies are good examples. We may own a copy of the cd or the movie but we cant psychically own or hold the movie and music in our hands. we can only hold the tool we use to access the movie or music. Its always been that way for other forms of entertainment media. When comparing live theaters vs movies or music cd/digital download vs the live concert experience the live concert or live theater experience will always win out in the end as being much better than the digital version. Its like that with books as well. The book is like the live version while E book is like the simple recording its not the same.

I don’t know about any one else but my book collection is just to precious to part with. I love holding the book in my hand. I love opening a new book and getting that new book smell. I get excited to start a new adventure every time I open a new book. E book just does not seem the same and I Don’t think I will be ever convinced that E book is a better option. But hey who knows what the future will hold.

Leave a Reply

