The War of The Worlds

Posted: January 3, 2014 in Book Reviews

images

The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells published in 1898

Another old classic that I thought I would enjoy. Most people already know the basic story. Aliens from mars come ot earth and wreak havoc on the alien populations. Seperated into 2 books. The first book recounts the trials and expirences of the narrators brother whom we do not have a name for, and book 2 the rest of the narrators story.

The aliens come and start planting there own version of plants while killing and destorying human civiliations. Arriving on earth in cylinders launched from mars. These cylinders turn into massive robot killing macines run by the martians. Heat rays burn everything in there path as they seek to destroy humanity. There seems to be no stopping them.

It seems to the martians we are no more than ants to be stepped on to make way for there own agendas and plan.

The narrator loses his wife in the chaos and spends the story in a desperate attempt to get back to his wife. At one point trapped in a collapsed house for over 2 weeks, living of scraps of food waiting and hoping that the alien invaders will eventualy move on. Which they do and he escapes and makes his way to london.

Of course the aliens don’t succeed, and whether he ever finds his wife again you will have to read to find out. How the aliens get stopped you will have to read and find out as well. I don’t want to spoil it for you.

I have never been a fan of the narrative type of story telling. However that being said I am a huge science fiction fan so I figured I would give this one a try. I had some difficulity keeping my focus on the story at times due to the narritve style of writing which I have alwasy had a hard time getting into. Despite that however I did find myself enjoying this read. Like many books from the time period it was not that long of a story and was a quick read but entertaining regardless. I found myself lauphing at times not becuase it was funny but because the aliens to my mind simply were not that imagnitive. Just seemed kind of childish in the imagination. I thought from mars really, that just seems to easy and simple. I guess I will just have to accept that as the imagination of the time as planets outside our solarsystem where unheard of.

I think the book of would of been more entertaining and interesting if it was less of a narrative and had some more complex details and more than a run like ants out of a anthill type response from the people in the story. The response of the people was just to predictable and cliche for a alien invasion story. I guess it is just to hard to get over that part considering the spoiling we have had in alien invasion storys over the past 100 years since this book was written. Eithier way I still enjoyed this read. As for recommendations on this book, I am pritty neutral I do not recomend it but would not say do not read it either.

This book gets a 5 out of 10 book worms

Comments
  1. […] Andrew McLean on The War of The Worlds […]

  2. Rabindranauth says:

    This is my favorite Wells of the set that I’ve read so far. It’s just sheer, pointless destruction. Epic stuff. Incidentally, if you’re a Wells fan, you should check out the Victoriana Trilogia by Felix J. Palma. Those books are just crazy. I actually have a review up for the first two, here’s the link to the first one, if you’re interested: http://drunkendragonreviews.wordpress.com/2014/04/10/the-map-of-time-by-felix-j-palma/

Leave a Reply

