THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GRAY

Posted: June 25, 2013 in Book Reviews

Image

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar wild. Published in 1890.

I don’t normally read Literature or books from this time period, however the concept of this story intrigued me when I first heard of it so I thought I would give it a try.

This book has an intriguing story line and the words of song come to mind to describe this story which say

“Let me tell you about a story, about a man consumed with vice, Its theosophical in nature and hedonistic in disguise”. The story is about as you may have guessed a man by the name of Dorian Gray and his picture.

Dorian after meeting the artist Basil Howard has his portrait painted. While this is being done he meets a man named Lord Henry who recognizing Dorians immense beauty and opens his eyes to the fact that while his portrait will remain young and unaged, in the prime of its life so to speak, he Dorian would age and not be young or have his youthful energy forever so he better enjoy it while he can.

Wishing never to lose his youthful beauty and to enjoy all the beauty that life has to offer he makes a wish on a whim that his portrait might age while he remains young and healthy and full of beauty. Thinking his time is short for his youth, he embraces life’s pleasures and joys with vigour and passions leading him down a path of sin, vice and evil.

It’s not long before he realizes that his wish comes true, and like the saying says, be careful what you wish for because it might come true. What at first looks and seems like a blessing soon becomes a curse. As his portrait soon begins to reflect the evil and sin that afflicts his soul. He is becoming racked with guilt and terrified that someone might learn his secret so he hides his portrait away lest someone begins to see the true nature of his soul.

Dorian decides to change his life for the better, but by then it is to late

This book gets you thinking, if you could see in a picture of yourself, the effects on your soul of every decision you make, would you hide it away in a desperate effort to hide your true colors, or would you use it to help you make better decisions in your life.what would you change if you could see a true relflection of your own soul.

The ending took me by suprise, I was not expecting it to end in the way that it did and quite abruptly as well. make a great end to the story and unpredictable which is what I like best

While the wrighting style at times is not that fast paced and a bit descriptive and to be honest boring, it is in my opinion and great story told over all quite well and most defiantley a recommended read. I certianly enjoyed this read and would recommend it for others. A story with a lesson that we all could use. I give this book 6.5 out of 10 bookworms

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Rabindranauth says:

    The writing was hard for me to get through in this one, but I understand why it’s so lauded. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a case of someone so utterly destroyed by their passions.

  2. andrewpmclean says:

    glad you enjoyed my review, i hope you enjoy the reviews on my other books as well

  3. I’m a huge fan of this book. Like you said, Dorian had choices in life and he made the wrong ones. I’d like to think that seeing my sins would help me to change and be a better human being, but I’m sure there would be a lot of shame involved as well. I’m glad we don’t all wear our sins on our sleeves, although sometimes it would be nice to know what my neighbors and co-workers are really up to when no one is looking.

Leave a Reply

